The British School of Tirana has four Houses – Hawking, Harrison, Newton and Shakespeare, named after famous British thinkers and scientists.


Every pupil belongs to a House and has a strong sense of loyalty to their House community. Houses provide a framework for internal competitions. It is hoped that every child will support their House by participating in school life as fully as possible.


Pupils can earn points for their House throughout the week in all sorts of ways. This might be by exhibiting excellent behaviour, delivering high standards of work, being exceptionally helpful or achieving a target they have been set. The House Points are collected each Friday and awarded publicly. There are four pillars in the entrance hall which are slowly filled with plastic balls throughout the year in relation to how many house points each house has earned. The final total at the end of each School Term decides the winners of the House Cup.